1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Best model for beginning trap & home protection

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Concannon, Jan 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Concannon

Concannon TS Member

I am new to the trap shooting sport. I am looking for a good trap shooting gun that can double as a home protection weapon. I would like to spend between $500 and $1600 at most for this shotgun. I prefer an autoloader model. Considering durability, ease of use, and quality, which model would you recommend I purchase. Thank you for your help.

C.E.

2. JOND

JOND TS Member

Model 12 ! JOND

3. traedawg

traedawg TS Member

I agree with Rick

4. Border Bandit

Border Bandit Well-Known Member

Rick's suggestion of a Remington 870 came to mind, right away. I give it the edge over a Mod 12 because of cost, availability, and barrel options, easily & cheaply found most everywhere. 20 - 24" IC barrels are not uncommon.

Good luck, all the best.....mike

5. Savage99Stan

Savage99Stan Active Member

Simple...870 with a 30 inch "target barrel" and full and IM tubes, then add a riot barrel for when you're home.

6. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

How about an 1100 Remington Trap model for trap AND a slug barreled M37 Ithaca or M870 Remington for the home defense gun. You can have both and still be with-in the budget you mentioned.

7. ncbound

ncbound TS Member

Trap is trap, home defense is home defense. You can easily buy a brand new home defense shotgun, like a mossberg 500 or an 870 and purchase a dedicated trap shotgun and still stay way below budget.

8. bill4807

bill4807 Member

Home defense, think short length double barrel 12 gauge. Easy to point and lots of lead down range in a short period of time.