1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Best Economical Reloads?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by WNCRob, Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WNCRob

WNCRob Member

I've been reloading for about 8 months and have, for the most part, been using Remington components and Clays. I'd really appreciate suggestions for cost-saving recommendations for powder, primers and wads for Remington hulls...assume a 1 1/8th oz load @ 1150-1200 fps...a formula that you'd be comfortable using full-time at registered shoots. Personally, I shoot break-open guns, so I don't know whether so-called "dirty" powders should be a concern? If you are concerned about publicly recommending a powder charge, naming the powder and assuming that I will use the manufacturer's recommended charge is fine.

Many thanks!

WNCRob

2. Tripod

Tripod Well-Known Member

I always shop for the best prices. I am currently using noblesport primers with 700X and claybuster 1 1/8 ounce WW orange wads. I bought some shot at the state shoot for what at the time was a good price and prices are better now. I figure if I keep the price down I can shoot more..

3. Aintlost

Aintlost Member

Try to by primer and powder local to avoid haz mat charges, but purchase wads in lots of 5k and have them shipped to your residence. While your question by focused on cost,a cheap reload that doesn't pattern well could be considered no value.

4. tuscarora 99

tuscarora 99 TS Member

what im reloading right now and have come to really like is promo powder from allaint, cheddite primers, downrange xl1 wads and sts hulls. Though the wads are ounce wads they are the same price as the 1 1/8th wad. I like downrage wads they give superb patterns with this load.

5. E. Beaver

E. Beaver Member