1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

? Beretta A303

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Chocolateman, Apr 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chocolateman

    Chocolateman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    I am getting back into Trap shooting after a long layoff.

    Currently shooting the A303. Never had any problems with it when out hunting and shooting hunting loads.

    However, when I am shooting trap loads (7.5 and 8.) it does not fully eject the shell.
    I have tried different types of shells without any luck.

    Really want to shoot trap with this gun, but, makes it hard to shoot doubles when the 1st shell is not ejecting.

    Anyone else have or had this problem and any suggestions to correct?

    thanks
     
  2. Chango2

    Chango2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,518
    That gun is consdered to be excellent; I had one in a trap model and regret selling it. As I recall, some of those 300 series guns, the earlier ones, did not bleed off enough gas to cycle things as well as needed. The fix was to open up the gas ports in the cylinder that is attached to the barrel. This is what I can only recall; I had that problem too with a 303. The guns allegedly were set up for heavy European hunting loads.

    However, I am just responding WITH A MEMORY OF YEARS AGO. I suggest that this memory might get you into the ballpark of what's wrong. The other thing wrong could be a very dirty gun.

    Therefore: I suggest you also check with Tron at www.tronspace.com who is a Beretta automatic expert. I think that's his website for his gunsmith shop. Also ask Cubancigar2000 at this site. He knows those guns very well.
     
  3. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    Clean the gas ports.

    I enlarged mine to 1/8". 1 ounce now flies through the gun. It's a skeet gun but that doesn't matter, a 303 is a 303. It may be that the target models have a larger gas port.

    If your gun worked before with trap loads, it should still do so.

    You need an extra long drill bit, available from industrial suply companies.

    The hole in the cup is there for when they drill the gas port at the factory.

    Just for your information.

    HM
     
  4. JH

    JH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,359
    Hmmm...I have had/have more than one......opening the gas port is the last resort. Once you do that, you have a dedicated light load barrel. If you later shoot an opened barrel with heavy loads, you will break a link, or worse, a leg off the bolt.

    What you need to do is clean HELL out of the ports, gas piston and gas system. You may not have a trap barrel in your gun. You may have a 3" mag 30" field barrel which has the narrower ports. If it is a trap barrel, you should not have any trouble if you clean the ports and SHOOT THE GUN WET with Break FREE CLP all over the gas system. If you are shooting reloads, make sure you have a good crimp and you are dropping the prescribed amount of powder.

    My 303s work EVERY TIME!
     
  5. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    I agree, it is a last resort. If it is a trap barrel getting the crud out of the ports will do the job. If it is a field barrel, a decision has to be made.

    I wouldn't open one up unless I was only going to shoot the light stuff forever after.

    HM
     
  6. cubancigar2000

    cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,521
    Location:
    Idaho
    Sounds to me like you have a 3" hunting field model gun??? Dont alter anything
     
  7. hmb

    hmb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,427
    If you open one of the gas ports with a #31 drill you can tap it 6-48 and use one of those little plug screws from a rifle barrel scope base. This allows you to shoot light and heavy loads by being able to close one of the gas ports. HMB
     
  8. Chocolateman

    Chocolateman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks for all the advice (glad no one suggested selling it and getting a K gun)

    Just to clarify....it is a field gun and I have not put on a trap barrel.

    Gun was used for hunting and now I want to use it for trap....

    Looking for options....not realy crazy about drilling out the ports.

    Gun is cleaned after ever use....do not believe dirt is an issue.
     
  9. acss

    acss Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    5,982
    Location:
    rock port, mo
    but did you actually clean the ports? i have a field 303 which did the same thing- i wasnt cleaning them, other than spraying a lil oil in there til you wud see it running inside the barrel! we(hunting buddies) bot 3 of these 3" field guns in the 80's- 2 shot lite loads 1 didnt!! we had a gunsmith reem out the port( not both)(you can always do the other later as a last resort) and fixed the problem. many 3" duck loads shot since but not box after box like target shooting. you know its funny how a hunter- gun owner struggles with altering a field gun and a longtime trapshooter wudnt give it a thot on tweaking or altering a gun if it gave even a slight problem!!

    ps - try 3drm loads vs 23/4 drm
     
  10. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    The stuff that plugs gas ports is very damn hard, almost like ceramic in nature. I clean my 1100's with the appropriate size number drill in a pin vise. You may not be able to do this because of the alignment of the hole with the hole in the cup necessitating a longer drill.

    You can get an idea by looking at plugged barrel ports how hard Powder residue can be.

    Putting something wet in there will give more debris something to cling to.

    So I guess you can open the gun manually each time.

    HM
     
  11. Chocolateman

    Chocolateman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    I am shooting both 3 and 2 3/4 drm. Makes no difference.
    However, when I shoot the more expensive AA load, I don't have an issue with the cycle.

    I can fix this issue real quick, by purchasing the more $$ double A load.

    But, like I said...new to this sport. I have two of my kids involved as well.

    Trap shooting is a little more $$ than it was 20 years ago. If I can save some costs and buy the cheaper (less expensive) load...then I will.

    Don't want to take out a new line of credit to enjoy a sport with my kids.

    I am determined to get this working.

    Can I ask for advice on cleaning out the ports? I assume I am cleaning them each time I clean the gun...but...maybe I am missing something.

    I don't have the manual for this gun. Is there a web reference I can be pointed to than will ensure I am in fact cleaning the ports?

    Thanks again guys....really appreciate the advice so far.
     
  12. perazzi_01

    perazzi_01 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    This whole scenerio is why Beretta came out with the 390 and the self compensating gas system. Guys wanted a do all gun , to be able to shot 3" magnums and then recreational target shoot. It started the downward trend of the 300 series IMHO.
     
  13. acss

    acss Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    5,982
    Location:
    rock port, mo
    as said earlier -there are 2 small ports sitting in front of gas piston chamber, they angle into the barrel. gun scrub or even a pipe cleaner will help . oil in the area seems to advance the carbon buildup. but really the drilling out will probably be your alternative choice
     
  14. Chocolateman

    Chocolateman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    "Guys wanted a do all gun , to be able to shot 3" magnums and then recreational target shoot. It started the downward trend of the 300 series IMHO."



    Sorry to quote you ACSS...but... IMHO...why shouldn't we have a do all gun?....why do I have to buy a k series gun in order to enjoy this sport.

    I will repeat...getting back into the sport of trap....my kids are @ the age of 16 and 17....they are both very intertested in this wonderful sport of trap.

    Limited funds prevent me from buying into the current trend on trap guns

    Why do we need special "K" guns?....why can't I use the guns we have and enjoy them?

    Many years ago...I worked a summer job on a farm with horses. People I worked with were into the sport of horses and jumping. Anyone who has been around Horse people (and the money) knows what i am speaking.

    Please do not tell me the sport of Trap as gone in the same direction as Horse jumping?


    Come on people.....let's not get carried away.

    This sport evolved from the sport of field hunting.

    If I can't shoot trap with a field gun...then let me know....

    Otherwise....let's solve this problem and encourage others to get involved and not be intiminated in what they bring to the line.
     
  15. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    Of course you can use a field gun for trap. the reason all the specialized guns came about was simply evolution.

    The ideas that were successful became the norm for dedicated trap guns.

    guys who wanted to do better tried them. the ones that worked became the norm.

    A higher point of impact so you can see the target at all times.

    A straighter stock so your eye is in perfect alignment with the beads, no matter where your face lands.

    A longer barrel for a better sight plane.

    Reloading to get a shell that works is an answer, as well as an economy move because you have 2 kids shooting.

    You can reload for 3.50-4.00 a box. And the shell you make will be better than the cheapie promotional loads.

    Promo is cheap as powders go, and will give you lots of gas volume to cycle the action when you get to the right load.

    You might be able to use a cutting torch tip cleaner to get the cinder out of your ports.

    Don't give up the ship.

    HM
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
alternative to beretta 303
,

beretta 303 disassembly

,
beretta 303 pigeon shooting
,

beretta a303 age

,
beretta a303 problems
,
cleaning the baretta a303
,
how to fix a gas port of a beretta pocket gun
,

how to make beretta 303 cycle light loads