1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Beretta 682 Gold

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 9manfan, Aug 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 9manfan

9manfan Well-Known Member

I just started shooting trap this summer for the first time ever and really enjoy it, I purchased a used bertte 682 gold and have been shooting it for about a month now, really like the gun,I am shooting the bottom barrel and last nite as I was pulling to shoot the gun would not fire,I opened the gun up and put another shell in and it was the same thing, wouldn't fire, both shells didn't have the primer dented, tried it again and the third time it fired, it worked the rest of the nite fine, any ideas what would have caused this, thanks Tom

2. shot410ga

shot410ga Well-Known Member

Broken firing pin, check it? Primers set to far into the shell base?

3. TD1958

TD1958 Member

Did you open it far enough to cock it each time? Just a thought, cause i have done the same thing!! Tim

4. mag410

mag410 Active Member

I fixed one for a friend recently that was doing the same thing. He only shoots the inexpensive shells with the zinc-plated hulls. Estate, Top Gun, Gun Clubs etc.

The firing pins and their recesses were dry as a bone and there were many tiny pieces off flaked off zinc built up in the pin and recesses.

Solution, remove the stock and disassemble the receiver and clean, something that I do as matter of course when I buy an used gun.

I have a 25 year old 682 that has been shot a lot (200k+). It has never been completely disassembled, but at least once a year, or whenever I get rained on, I take the stock off and hose down, with Rem-oil and blow off with compressed air.