1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Bending a Stock

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Dr.Longshot, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dr.Longshot

Dr.Longshot Banned Banned

How long must the stock have pressure applied for it to bend? Speaking in number of days, approximately? W/O Heat.

Gary Bryant
    Dr.longshot

2. AveragEd

AveragEd Well-Known Member

Gary, I'm no expert but I don't think bending a stock without heat is recommended due to a potential for cracking.

I recently had one of my stocks bent by Allem's Guncraft. They placed the receiver in a padded vice and allowed hot oil to flow over the wrist area for several hours, then started applying pressure on the side of the butt area. It takes a skilled eye to accurately judge how much bending a particular piece of wood will tolerate before cracking becomes a risk. The more figured the wrist area, the less bending is a wise idea. Straight unfigured grain in that area is best for bending.

The person doing the bending also has to know how much cast you want and be able to accurately guesstimate how much the wood will relax back after the pressure is removed; then he knows how far to bend it. I wanted a quarter-inch of cast with more being okay, so Mike Allem bent my stock 5/8". The wood is then allowed to cool for a few hours before the pressure is removed from it. My stock relaxed 1/4", so I netted 3/8". I dropped my gun off at Allem's and received a call that it was ready the next day.

From what I learned about the process, I would not recommend bending your own stock.

Ed

3. birdogs

birdogs TS Member