1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Beginnig shooter gun recommendations

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Dbuck, Jul 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dbuck

Dbuck TS Member

Hello all. I am a beginner at trap shooting. I would like to purchase my first shotgun. I am on a budget and do not want to go over $1000. I have tried my friends charles daly over under, and a browning single barrel. I liked both but liked the browning more I think because it had a heavier feel. Any opinions would be great. I would be willing to buy new or used.
    Thanks for all your time!
    Darren

2. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

For the money it is hard to beat a Browning BT-99. You can't use it for Doubles but I think it is better to be competent at 16 yard and handicap before even thinking about Doubles.

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Buy a used gun that you can shoot first. If it is user friendly and hits a lot of targets you are allowed to buy it. HMB

4. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member

Agree with HMB. Guns are no different than anything else. They depreciate. Buy a good used gun and then when it comes time to "upgrade" you will lose less $$.
    The Bt99 is a good, reasonably priced trap gun and can be bought used within your budget range. However, the BT99 limits you to 16 yd and handicap trap. If you want to try doubles or use the gun for sporting clays; the gun naturally will not meet your needs. If the gun will be needed to shoot all clay target disciplines; I would opt for a Beretta 391 or a Remington 1100. (With choke tubes). Either of these guns would allow you to shoot all the clay target games and will hold their value. Just stay away from those "cheapie over/ unders). Good luck. Ed

5. GW22

GW22 Active Member