1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Beginner shooting in Indiana

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by thehyperpiper, Sep 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thehyperpiper

thehyperpiper TS Member

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the forum, and as you'll read on, it is my first time for everything trap related!

I'm very interested in getting involved in the sport, however I would be starting from ground zero. I don't have a FOID card, but Merrillville, Indiana is not very far from me. I guess my first question is if anyone knows about the Glen Park Izaak Walton League, and if I can shoot there without a FOID or if I have to apply for one first?

Once question #1 is answered, I can proceed to problem #2. I don't own a shotgun ( as if you couldn't guess from problem #1). Does anyone know if the Glen Park Izaak Walton League can rent equipment, that is a gun, goggles, ear protection, etc?

Hopefully the answers to the first two are positive enough for to press on with my questions. The last two are pretty generic and I'm sure that the info would be useful anyway. #3 How much should I expect to pay, for a few hours, if i include rental fees, grounds fees, ammunition, and clays? And finally, #4, Glen Park Izaak Walton League says that its hours in November include Saturdays 11 AM to 3 PM. Do you think that includes the Saturday after Thanksgiving? Very obscure question I know but I will have family in that weekend and I think they would enjoy the experience as well.

thanks in advance for all your replies

2. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

One of you guys from Niles get on here and help him out, it is not that far and offers more opportunity for this young man. Lots of good clubs in northern Indiana and lower Mich

3. Bisi