1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

beginainer what size shot and what choke tom use

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by edwin hicks, Nov 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edwin hicks

edwin hicks TS Member

I am new to the sport, shooting terrible 41 on four rounds never had a problem shooting 25 out of 25 on my launcher , this is a whole new thing . I think i need some advice on shot size and choke size, any comments would be apreciated,i am not discouraged , this looks like it will be fun for me!! My 41 was with 7.5 shot 1 1/8 oz modified choke
    Thanks Edwin

2. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

What you used is fine.

Learn to shoot it. As you said... this is a new thing. The targets don't all go the same direction like they do from a launcher.

Don't drive yourself loony looking for the magic shot and choke combination expecting it will solve all your problems.

Now, wait a second for the guys that prefer #8 shot to jump in.

MK

3. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

I prefer full chokes but thats me. It sounds as if your shells and choke choice are exactly what you want. I use 1 1/8oz #8's and full choke but i stink at a 94% singles and 90% handicap from the 20.5 yard line. I would suggest patterening your gun to check your POI(point of impact) and see how your modified choke patterns first. What is your weapon of choice may i ask?

Matt

4. grntitan

"Now, wait a second for the guys that prefer #8 shot to jump in"

didn't take me long did it? LOL

Matt

5. Spanky

Spanky Active Member

Practice, practice, practice................patience.

6. edwin hicks

edwin hicks TS Member

stoeger condor is my gun i patterned it and point of impact a 35 yrds seems to be on but with the mod choke i had only 320 in 30 inch circle