1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Bad Winchester Primers--Maybe

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Jim Porter, Jun 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jim Porter

Jim Porter Well-Known Member

Shooting this weekend and had three failures to fire in 100 rounds. The shells were loaded last week with Winchester primers bought two years ago & stored in a dry area inside a closed cabinet. The firing pin strikes were loud enough for the next shooter to hear it. Good depth of indention on all three. All the other shells sounded consistent and broke 25 yard targets very well. We are going to cut them and see if we can find anything wrong. I have been loading for 50 years and have never had a bad primer---interesting!

2. Jon Reitz

Jon Reitz Well-Known Member

I had one yesterday. I also had another about a month ago. Kind of strange, as the gun usually eats just about anything in the way of primers. Remington went thru this a few months back and scrambled to rectify it.

3. Willus

Willus TS Member

I load only Winchester Primers, and have been for a long time. When I load the primer tray I look at the primers, they have what appears to be a off white center. In the time that I have been loading I have found three that had a dark gray center. I called Winchester and asked about the primers, with the dark gray centers. They said send it in, and they would give me a new packet. I did not send it in.

4. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

I have several from a couple years back that wouldn't fire either, so I bought a different brand. No problems with the new ones in the same guns. Strike three!! Hap

5. Jerry944t

Jerry944t Well-Known Member