1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

......bad shooting?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Need2Know, Jul 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Need2Know

Need2Know TS Member

I've been shooting trap for about 6 months and had developed an average 80/100 with steady improvement. Even shot my first 25 a month ago. The following week started derailment that continues. Last week I was dropping 6 - 8 a round? It stinks. What gives?

I'm shooting a 870 wingmaster (not a trap model) with 30" Full BRL w/ rib vent. Haven't changed anything consciously. Same shells.

Shots that I could smoke I'll just flat out miss now. Any thoughts? Should I start knitting as a hobby?

Still wondering about an eye dominance issue that I mentioned in another post, but don't feel that's entirely responsible for this.

2. Need2Know

Need2Know TS Member

What is cross-firing?

3. N. J. BOB

N. J. BOB Active Member

Where are you located???

4. shot410ga

shot410ga Well-Known Member

Welcome to the real world of trap shooting. It will happen many times, if you stay in the game.

5. Need2Know

Need2Know TS Member

North Georgia.

6. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Almost impossible to diagnose what you are doing with out seeing you do it but..... alot of new to the game shooters tend to start shooting the shotgun as if it were a rifle where they aim the shot. This has a lot of bad consequences like stopping the gun just before the trigger is pulled or just plain not seeing the target.

Obviously the what ever you are doing it is the wrong thing so you need to quit practicing the wrong stuff if you want the scores to improve. A professional coach will be able put you on the right track fairly quickly.

7. Shooting Jack

Shooting Jack Active Member