1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Back surgery

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by fordtech, Jan 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fordtech

fordtech TS Member

I am having extreme back pain.Diaged with degenerative disk disorder.L5-4 effected,ruptured and others bulged.My question is how many of you have been through a disk fusion surgery?Was it effective?Was you able to return to working a physical job?I am a auto technician an affraid my career may be over after surgery.Are you still able to shoot ect.Just wondering(scared)i am 43 and unable to stop working at this point.Thanks for your input, Don

2. ken a

ken a Member

I had about the same problem with the 5 and 4 about 15 years ago but they didn't fuse the area but cut out the bulge that burst causing extreme pain. I did have a month or so therapy and then followed doctors orders to walk and walk some more for the first 6 months. Ask your doctor what he thinks about your chances. Ask around and see what doctors have the best reputations. Not all mechanics are equal right? Mine said you will be able to do anything within reason, just walk and don't rush the healing process. Good luck

3. whopper1

whopper1 Member

I had L4,L5, and S1 fused on Nov.9, 2009. The surgery was a success. Doc said 3 months off work and no trapshooting for 3 months.Still not back to work-next doc appt is feb 18 at which time I will be released to return to work. Phisical limitation after surgery was nothing heavier than a gal. of water.