1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Att: Barrel Freezing Tech & Disbelievers.....

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by BL350, Feb 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BL350

BL350 TS Member

This is my first attempt to answer some of the barrel freezing comments. I will try to explain this relatively new (circa 1960's) "heat treating" process. Low temperature thermal heat treating had some beginnings in Jet engine ball bearing development. It really is propietary (trade secret) to the industries that have to provide components used in high temp. applications. Low temp. thermal heat treating in liquid nitrogen (minus 320 F) removes the last small percentage of a retained highly stressed metalic phase that a stress relief cycle (At approx 900F) cannot remove in high hardness alloy metals. This process prevents PERMANENT physical dimemsional change in components used in high temp. enviroments (400F) I didn't believe in this until we conducted tests. A 1 inch hole in a heat treated 440C alloy part would actually grow approx. .001 inches after a 24 hour soak at 400F. That is after bringing the part back to room TEMPERATURE.......NOW lets try to bring this all to the present. This low temp. technique is now in the hallowed halls of ASTM publications. Will it work on Shotgun barrels???? Rifle barrels???? The NRA did a very good test a few years ago on low temp. treated barrels, but didn't come up with any better results. I know it works for specific applications. The NASCAR teams are using this process on everything that is heat treated, valve springs, valves, trans gears, rear end gears. They believe that they are getting a longer fatique life. These are the last people in the USA that have the research dollars to support and develop new processes and