1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

ATA Shotshell Rule

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by JDS, Oct 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JDS

JDS TS Member

ATA limits the amount of shot to 1 1/8oz. so, why limit the velocity to 1290fps?

2. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

New rules are;

1 1/8 oz 1290

1 oz 1325

7/8 oz 1350

3. Steve-CT

Steve-CT TS Member

I thought it was 1-1/8 1250?

1-oz 1290?

I don't really know - I know that when I started shooting trap there were two loads: 1-1/8th at 1,145 and 1-1/8th at 1,200.

Now there are so many weights and speeds - it's impossible to keep up with

4. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

section XIII Part F paragraph 3

velocity no greater than 1290fps with a shot charge of 1 1/8oz or 1325 with a max shot charge os 1oz or 1350 with a max shot charge of 7/8oz. Max shot size 7.5. No shot charge may exceed 3%.

Maybe they should just go to 1 load? Say 1oz at 1200fps 7.5. Would really make thing interesting.

5. JDS

JDS TS Member

I know the rules, the question is "WHY" limit "Velocity" ?

6. just_bob

just_bob Member

I suspect they are trying to even things out. By increasing the speed on the smaller loads gives each pellet more energy.

just_bob

7. JDS

JDS TS Member

Thank You.
    Now look at it this way please, per "ATA's rules" reduce shot weight and increase velocity fps, 7/8-1350 fps. Why limit the velocity to "1350 fps"? Reduce shot weight even more and increase velocity! Why not launch a 24 gram at 1350 plus ? So, "Why does the ATA limit Velocity(fps)"?

8. Hauser

Hauser Member

The shot and velocity limits have more to do with giving the ammunition manufactures reasonable standards for fabricating ammunition than enforcement of ATA rules.