1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

ATA Average Cards

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by butchiez, Jun 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. butchiez

butchiez TS Member

I have been shooting for less than two years. I tried to get clsssified at the PA state shoot at Elysburg. I was told I would get penalized in handicap because my paper average card was not filled out. I have shot about 2000 registered targets this year in Florida and New Jersey. They never asked to see the paper card. I thought it was all in the computer. When I go into the ATA website my targets and yardage come up. I am new to shooting and registered shoots. Can someone help me understand the use of the paper card. Why couldn't the man at the classify window look up my targets on the ATA site using my ATA card. I was disappointed today after a two hour drive. Please Help.

2. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

The ATA site is never up to date. Its your responsibility to keep your average card current. They want to be able to see all of your shooting scores and classes you have shot in. The only person to blame is yourself. Its part of the rules.

From The current ATA Rules:

C. RULES OF CONDUCT OF AN ATA SHOOTER

4. The Average Card is intended to provide classification personnel at registered shoots with current data on a member’s shooting ability. Shooters not having their Average Cards up to date may be put in a higher class or otherwise penalized. Failure to accurately record scores,
    or the falsification of scores, can lead to disciplinary action including
    suspension from the ATA.

3. ivanhoe

ivanhoe Well-Known Member