1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Assist Please-Bondo ?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GBatch_25, Oct 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GBatch_25

GBatch_25 Active Member

I need to build up a PFS grip and Bondo is the obvious choice. Since I've never used it before, I'd appreciate any advice. Do I need an aspirator? Should I use it outside?

Are there alternatives ?

Thx.

Gene Batchelar
    Wheaton, IL

2. The Rock

The Rock Active Member

Bondo will work. But here are two alternatives

http://www.gamaliel.com/cart/product.php?productid=582&cat=307&page=1

http://www.gamaliel.com/cart/product.php?productid=8497&cat=1654&page=1

The glove I have not tried. The stick on palm swell does a poor job (MHO) if your stocks grip is checkered.

One guy used hot glue and it worked for a reasonable time before starting to come loose.

Rock

Jim

3. ABH

ABH Member

Gene,

Use Bondo in the garage. It has a strong odor.

ART H.

4. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

No need for a respirator but you will need a mask when you sand it. Bondo is easy to work with, you will need the right sand papers and a spaghetti file would be helpful and an applicator ( squeege) I am an old body man Gene, call me if you need help

5. Harv Shell

Harv Shell TS Supporters TS Supporters

Gene, if you remember the MX2000RS PFS grip I modified and had dipped, I used a product from Ace Hardware called Raycrete. It's a 2 part polymer that was easy to shape and mold and is much stronger and more resilient than bondo. I just roughed up the places on the grip before I put it on. I extended the grip and built a perfect palm swell with it. I would use it again. Harv Shell
    100_1680.jpg?1288265513

100_1682.jpg?1288265601

6. shot410ga