1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Army ammo ??

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by southjblue, Oct 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. southjblue

southjblue Active Member

I have some old army 30-06 ammo and never shot it but was told that it may have a corrosive problem to the bbl---Any thoughts will help---Thanks---George@SJB---

2. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

I think alot has to do with the coating and primer as to it being corrosive or not. I'm no expert but have had some nasty military surplus ammo.---Matt

3. 221

221 Banned User Banned TS Supporters

You need to determine what you have. Those in the know will need to see the head stamp, and or the packaging and they can tell very accurately what you have and tell you if it's corrosive. You could possibly have some that is and some that is not unless you verify it's all the same.

4. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

What is the head stamp? If it is US manufactured stuff there will be a year and a plant ID. The year is just 2 digits like 42 or 53 for 1942 or 1953 etc.
    If your ammo has a pre 60 date then the primers are probably corrosive. Good news is just clean your barrel and chamber well after shooting the stuff and you won't have any problems. Still a lot of 03' Springfields and Garands out there that have shot lots of corrosive ammo and yet still have great bores as a result of proper care.

5. southjblue

southjblue Active Member

They are not packaged but loose---If corrossive will it hurt the bbl or receiver?---Thanks---George

6. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

If you clean the gun thouroughly after shooting you will be fine.---Matt

7. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member