1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Are Trap Ranges Profitable

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by TrapDude21, Jan 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TrapDude21

TrapDude21 TS Member

I've been shooting trap now for about 6 months and have totally been bit. I try to shoot every weekend and just did my first registered shoot this month. Granted, I'm not ready to turn pro, but I really enjoy it (don't enjoy the higher shell prices though).
    Someday, I wouldn't mind owning & operating a trap range. The places that I go are pretty nice, are reasonably priced, and they attract quality people - sounds fun. Wasn't sure how profitable these ranges are and how many years it takes before you actually start turning a profit (can you make a living?). Anyone have first hand experience and/or advice? Also, what do you look for in a range?
    Appreciate your comments.

2. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

I'm a member at a small club, 2 skeet fields, 2 trap fields. It costs us $1.42 for 25 targets ($7.70 a case of 135 if I remember right), which we sell for $3.25 (43% profit). Subtract out of that electricity, trap maintenance, property tax, insurance, ect ect. and theres not a lot of money to be made. Granted we also have a decent bar, so we are making money on that as well, but as a club, we could probably not survive if either the bar or the shooting ceased. Unless you have the capital to purchase a large piece of land, and put in lots of facilities in (skeet, trap, and sporting clays at a minimum), there is no way to maintain a club and make enough profit for it to be you're sole source of income. Most small clubs rely heavily on a base of volunteer help as it is, anyone you have to pay to help run your club cuts into the bottom line as well.