1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Are mercury recoil reducers helpful?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by SelectEnergyJim, Jun 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SelectEnergyJim

SelectEnergyJim TS Member

Let me start by saying that I am new to trapshooting. I picked up a friends Winchester Select Energy, loved it and bought one of my own. So here's the question: Some of the guys I'm shooting with are using mercury recoil reducers. Do they really work or is there a placebo effect here? If they are effective, what type is best (in barrel or stock)? Is there a rule of thumb as to how much weight to add? I know a lot of this is just personal preference but I would prefer to have the advice of some experienced shooters before I make a purchase that may be for naught.
    Thank you,
    Jim

2. Barry C. Roach

Barry C. Roach Well-Known Member

just add weight.

3. sglfr45

sglfr45 TS Member

Jim,

I work in a machine shop and make stock weights for a hobby. I have them in about any weight you may want. I also powdercoat them. They are $15.00 shipped to you. Email me if interested. Thanks, Matt

4. phirel

phirel TS Member

I have not seen any sound data that demonstrates mercury reducers are any better at reducing recoil than an equivalent amount of static weight.

Pat Ireland

5. smartass

smartass TS Member

There is a ton of anecdotal data out there concerning mercury reducers- some good and some bad. I'm convinced that they contribute to global warming, which is why I love them.

6. hubcap

hubcap TS Member

Whether its the mercury or just the weight I can't say, but they will reduce the amount of felt recoil. I have a couple of them.

hubcap

7. SelectEnergyJim

SelectEnergyJim TS Member