1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone using Down Range XL-1 Wads?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jerryw, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jerryw

jerryw TS Member

I just received a case of these 1 oz, wads as a gift. I have never used them before.
    I Need reloading data for these to use with STS and AA hulls. I can use Red Dot and Solo 1000 powder. I normally use W-209 primers.

I have been using CB-1100 wads.

Thanks

Jerry Walker

2. jbmi

jbmi Well-Known Member

I just bought a few bags of these at the Great Lakes Grand. Today I loaded 100 once fired STS hulls with them along with 1 oz. of 8 1/2's, 17.5gr. of Clays and Fiocchi 616 primers. I'll shoot some of them tomorrow. One thing I will say, they sure loaded slick and the STS's hulls sure ended with a great looking crimp.
    I use this same recipe with my tried and proven Down Range Jammer XL 1 for singles, I just want to try something different.

3. jerryw

jerryw TS Member

Mike,

Sorry I didn't give you enought info. I plan on loading these for 16 yd and short Handicap. I have been loading a 1200 FPS load with Red Dot and Solo 1000.
    Thanks

Jerry Walker

4. AAtrap

AAtrap Well-Known Member

Jerry, I am sure you will like them. My load was STS's,with 16.5 gr. of 700X, Rem. primer and TGT 12S. With the cost increases I now load same with the DR XL-1 and Fiocchi primers. Steve

5. WoodsonEnt

WoodsonEnt Active Member

Jerryw and jbmi,