1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone use Win WST Super Target Powder?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Shooting Jack, Dec 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shooting Jack

Shooting Jack Active Member

I was in a gun store today and they had a 8lb jug of WST on consignment for $90.00 and I knew it was a good price so I bought it. I have never used it before and wondered if anyone used it for trap? I mostly load 1 oz or 1 1/8 oz for trapshooting and it appears that is the range for loading this powder. What's your opinion of this powder? Thanks for your response. Jackie B.

2. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

From my experience it was a very dirty powder. That was ten years ago, so they may have changed it. Very much residue and powder left in the barrel.

3. oldgahchamp

oldgahchamp Active Member

I have been using Winchester Ball Powder for over 30 years. Unlike Stl Flyn, I think it is a very clean burning powder. Maybe the choice of primers makes the difference. It has had several names such as 452AA, Winchester Super Target, WST and at least one other I think. I load 18.2 gr. mostly using AA209,Rem209,AA & fig 8 wads. You got a good buy at 8lbs for $90. Larry Evans

4. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Super target is a little picky about which wad you use. It works great in AA shells with AA or clone wads.

Lots of bloopers with Windjammers, the factory told me to use high pressure wads only. (And they gave me 4 lbs of powder for the trouble I went through.)

HM

5. autogun

autogun Member

I've used it for years also; it is very clean burning for me. 19.5, 1oz, AA wad and hull, W209 yields 1180 fps and around 7500 psi-- winchester book load. You did well.

6. autogun

autogun Member