1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone reloaded Rio Papers?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by DecalDude, Nov 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DecalDude

DecalDude Active Member

I have been seeing these Rio Paper hulls now since the winter league started. Yesterday league was at our club so I helped the kids pick hulls(mainly because my supply was low) but we came across these rio papers and I had seen them at a few other clubs on the ground.

Has anyone reloaded any? Are they comprable as Federals?

Thanks Jerry

2. AveragEd

AveragEd Well-Known Member

Jerry, I have no first-hand experience with Rio hulls but a reader of mine asked for loading data for them a few months ago, so I put out a feeler in my column and learned this much.

First off, they are two-piece hulls and apparently exhibit basewad migration. One reader emailed me a photo of several cutaway hulls with loose or missing basewads. He referred to them as "euro-trash hulls."

Next, another reader told me that Rio primers are larger than most other 209s and accordingly, the primer pockets in Rio hulls will not reliably hold standard-sized primers in place. He also told me that he was able to seat Fiocchi 616 primers into Rio hulls with finger pressure and that they stayed put through normal handling, but I'm not too sure I'd want to shoot shells with "finger-tight" primers.