1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Anybody use TightWad for 1oz @1180?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by chipking, Feb 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chipking

chipking TS Member

Just out of curiosity does anyone out there use TightWad for 1oz @ 1180. I have a lead on a bunch pretty darn reasonable and since I have never tried it I thought I would ask before I spent a bunch of money (novel approach I know). It looks like according to Hodgdon with my current components STS hull, DRRT12, NS primer I could use 16.6 grains to get about 1180 with about 8,600 psi. I'm looking for a picture of the powder as well as I would like to see how far they went with the "flattened spherical" thing. Some times it is almost impossible to tell the difference between that and flakes.

Thanks --- Chip King ---

2. oz

oz Active Member

I could not get clays about a year ago. I bought titewad (cheaper) and I like it. I use sts wads though. I have had no problems with it. see no reason to go back ot clays. oz

3. Jim101

Jim101 Active Member

Shot it for several years. Makes a fine 1 oz and light 1 1/8oz powder. Burns clean and economical to load.

Jim

4. leadvail

leadvail Member

I loaded thousands of 1oz.8's estates/w209/cb tgt 12 with 18.5gr. of TW for my doubles load. Clean,soft recoil, meters perfect. Only issue I have with it is the spillage from my adjustable charge bar on my 9000 because it is so fine grained.
    Bob

5. RRA

RRA TS Member

I have been using TW for over a year. I load 1180 fps with 1 ounce windjammer wads and AA hulls. The fine granuals do create a slight mess as they do migrate out of the charge bar. It does burn clean. I used Clays for years and only switched to TW because it was less expensive.