1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Any electronics techs here? need diagnostic help

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by wireguy, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wireguy

wireguy TS Member

I'm a power electrician, and no training in the world of solid state. This is my first foray into that world. The circuit board is from my neighbor's electric gate. After much testing and observation I have determined that everything is functioning exactly as it should except when the relays to power the DC motor pull in, they instantly drop back out. The coils are 12 volt DC and are controlled by the DIP to the right of the blue relays, which in turn is controlled by the (master?) IC with the brown shroud into which all the other functions attach. Given that the only problem is the electrically held coils are pulling in but not holding in, I'm guessing the problem is in that DIP. There is a pair of micro-switches in the ram and they are functioning as designed. Is there any way to test the DIP? Would it be easyer to just replace it and see what happens? How does one un-solder something with so many legs? I have carefully checked for any sign of burned components and can find none.

<a href="http://s35.photobucket.com/albums/d189/wireguy/?action=view┬Ąt=temporary117.jpg" target="_blank">[​IMG]</a>

2. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Have you "wiped" the autoclose, inertia, and obstruct sense pots by rotating them fully from end to end a few times, then put them back in their original position? A dirty pot can cause a lot of trouble.