1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Anticipating (bad habit) help

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by starship, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starship

starship TS Member

Okay, I'm fairly new to this trap thing and having a great time....BUT
    I seem to be developing a bad habit of anticipating the clay. No doubt in my mind when it comes out it's going left....then it goes staight away (or close to it).

Shoot a fair amount of sporting clays and thinking maybe this is where I'm getting the habit. Actually do know most of the time where it's coming from and where it's going.

Realizing this is not the case with trap. Any suggestions or exercises for this problem, short of having someone stand behind me and whack me with a stick every time I do it?

Thanks
    Chuck

2. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

Practice with a friend doing the pulling without the microphone. Have the friend press the button at a random time interval after you mount your gun and you don't say a word just watch with your eyes and be READY.

3. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

Anticipation= attempting to beat the target. See the bird, them move the gun. Will work every time when you quit anticipating. Hap

4. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

have some one pull for you and have them slow pull for you, worked good for me. Also I Practice once a week on something anything but stay on it. This works for me when I start to feel rushed. Mount and take your hold point look out over house, call pull then say out load. I SEE YOU. before moving the gun to the target. Sometimes when things are all out of whack I will low mount my gun seems to help me see a track target first then shoot.

5. C H S

C H S TS Member