1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Another UPS story

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Rick Barker, Nov 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rick Barker

Rick Barker Well-Known Member

Went to UPS termianl yesterday to ship one gun and one empty case. Was told by person behind the counter not only was the UPS Stores not accepting guns to ship, but the company as a whole was only accepting guns that were shipped from a license holder to a license holder. I have been using USPS for the last two years, but in this instance the buyer of the gun requeseted UPS.

Now I have two more I want to ship and was planning to use UPS, because of the size of the boxes. These guns do not breakdown and I might run into a problem with the packages being oversided. Will do my research, and let you know what I find. I am going to try to find out if this is a new UPS policy or if employee did not know what they were talking about.

Am going to look into using FedEx. Anyone used FedEx? Any prolems? What about cost comparision?

2. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

Same as ray, fedex all the way. The only thing thats EVER cheaper is packages less than a lb and letters, which go USPS. The only time I ever ship UPS if i'm billing to the receiver and I have their account #, then they pay for it.

3. squirrelkiller

squirrelkiller TS Member

Fedex by far cheaper. Had to send a bow to FL for warranty work. UPS was $74, Fedex was $27. Exact insurance and packing. Still can't figure that one out.

4. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member

I'll turn you guys on to my best shipping resource.

http://www.shippingsidekick.com/getrates.wml