1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Another 9000G Question???????????

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by chuckie68, Apr 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chuckie68

chuckie68 Active Member

OK I'm new to the 9000 but nott reloading. I got my forst 9000 in January. Then I got a used 9000G in 20ga. Here is the question.

What causes the swirlies in the crimp? The depth seems OK but with Remington Gun Club hulls, 14grains of Unique, Claybuster wad, and 7/8 oz. #7 1/2s I'm getting swirl. Not much but never the less, it's there.

Is there an adjustment I'm missing?

Chuck

2. Limpy100

Limpy100 Member

Chuck sometimes to much wad pressure and some times to much pre crimp.Try pre crimp first.

3. Rick Barker

Rick Barker Well-Known Member

You need to either adjust the crimp starter (station 4) or cam (station 5) or both, by raising them.

You can view any MEC manual on line, in a couple different formats.

4. chuckie68

chuckie68 Active Member

Thanks! I'll try station 4 first---I thought it was a little deep from the start. This machine is used but new to me and I have only loaded a couple hundred shells on it.

Chuck

5. Oscar Ray

Oscar Ray TS Member

Rick is right, I printed out the manual for my 9000G and refer to it frequently!

Oscar

6. Calkidd

Calkidd Well-Known Member

Get your crimp depth adjusted correctly to approximately .055". The swirl is because of the crimp cam is adjust too far down. Remember to only adjust it a 1/16" at a time. If your pre crimp is about the size of a pencils eraser its fine.

Bryan

7. skeet_man

skeet_man Well-Known Member