1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Alot of cheap, low quality guns on market.

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Spanky, Oct 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spanky

Spanky Active Member

Got to work this morning and thought, after work I think I'll go and look at and probably buy a 20 ga. o/u to hunt with and probably shoot some sporting clays with. I've been kicking the idea around for a few years now about a 20 ga., but never acted on my initial impulse.

I'll admit I didn't want to spend $1500-$2000 for what my intention with this gun was to be. I didn't want to be cheap either. Thought I could get a good field o/u that would be o.k. for $600-$800. NOT!!!!!!!!!!!

I target shoot with a Browning Citori O/U Trap, BT-99 and a Beretta 391 Semi-Auto Trap(eases occasional shoulder issue). I know I'm not shooting the best there is. I'm just a bluecollar stiff and this is my max $$$ range, and that's no bull. Well I found out one thing today. I have a greater appreciation for my target guns now than what I had for them this morning. The market is saturated with alot of cheap, low quality o/u shotguns that I couldn't bring myself to buy. Fit and finish on these guns is a disgrace. For Pete's sake they don't even have a hindge pin. I looked at Russian-Remingtons, Stogers, Franchi's, Savage, Mossbergs and a few other imports. A few local gun shops and Dick's don't seem to carry decent or what I feel is a decent o/u. For now I'll keep hunting with my old Wingmasters and 1100's. After what I've seen today I will spend the extra to purchase a field grade Browning or Beretta O/U.

2. Mike Battista

Mike Battista Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

Spanky,