1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Alliant Promo powder

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by AAtrap12ga, Nov 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AAtrap12ga

AAtrap12ga Member

I’ve been reloading 12K to 15K round a year for the last seven years. With reloading costs increasing significantly I’m looking at ways to reduce my reloading costs. I have been using Remington wads and primers in my STS and Nitro hulls. My intent has been to mimic the Remington Light Target and Light Handicap shells. The powder used has been Clays for my 1oz 1145fps loads and International Clays for my 1 1/8 oz. 1200fps loads. In all likelihood I will switch to Claybuster TGT12 and Fig8 clones. There has been quite a few links regarding primers to the point of having me unsure if I should migrate from the Remington 209’s. The powder selection is my next dilemma. Hogdon powders have been hard to get at times in NH and not the most competitively priced. I’m considering using Alliant Promo for my lighter loads and Green Dot for my handicap load. For those that have used these powders what have been your results? If you switched from Clays and Int. Clays is there any difference in performance? Open to suggestions on primers and powders.
    Steve

2. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member