1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

age question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by slayer, Sep 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slayer

slayer Well-Known Member

I started shooting trap on a regular basis when I was in my 40's. Through the years I have, with some setbacks, gradually improved. With different guns and some valuable instruction I have enjoyed some modest success in the sport. This was one of my best years. Today I turn 59 and it's sort of on my mind: When does age really start to catch up to most guys [or gals] in this sport? For the older shooters, when did you really start to notice a decline in your skills due to age? Thanks for your kind replies. Bill

2. Donm

Donm Active Member

I just turned 62 in July. I have made the mens All State team for the last atleast four years. I had my highest handicap ave ever in 2011, around 93% from the 27. This year I had a tought one in all three events. Is that a decline due to age. We'll see in the next few years.

3. warren

warren Member

Mine started about 5 years ago, I'm 79, with my eyes. My right eye weakened dramatically and I started crossfiring badley and didn't know what I was doing. I finally went to a Kiner Clinic and he showed me what I was doing, my averages went from about a 94 in singles to low 80,s. Since then I've come back a lot but still have the problems. The Senior Vet class is a well thought out move.

warren

4. johnpe

johnpe Member