1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice for protecting my hearing

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jclark1975, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jclark1975

jclark1975 TS Member

So I'm finally trying to be diligent about my hearing. Probably a little too late, but I figure I can't let things get worse. I'm a musician and already have issues from standing next to loud drummers + amplifiers. I'm dealing with that separately. Any advice on either molded in-ear plugs or muffs. I primarily shoot trap once a week. I've been bothered by the ear muffs I have as they tend to hit the stock of the gun. Are there any low profile out there. How about in-ear pieces? My audiologist recommended just a solid ear plug, but wanted to get some advice.

Thanks!

- Jon

2. trapshootin hippie

trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

Huhhhhh? Watt???????? Whatja sayyyyyyyyy?? Kin ye speak up a bit there young feller??

Gne J

3. semperfi909

semperfi909 Well-Known Member

The molded in-ear type are about as good as you can get without muffs. Make sure the stuff is injected to get a deep mold rather than just pushed in the outer ear if you really want them to work right.

Charlie

4. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Cheap expanding foam "roll them and stick them in your ear until they touch your brain" ear plugs work as well as most anything else.

5. zarathrusta

zarathrusta TS Member

Shoot archery.

6. k1200ltc509

k1200ltc509 Member

Zara, I guess this means u r back?

7. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

I use both the molded plugs and muffs together!!