1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Adjustiable Combs

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Birch1007, Jan 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Birch1007

Birch1007 Active Member

Newbie here with a dumb question. On a trap gun with a adjustiable comb, how do you get it adjusted to the proper hight. How do you know you have it set to the correct hight?

2. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

What gun are you shooting?

Generally, you set it for the height that makes the beads (front and mid) into a nice figure-8. After that you can adjust to your liking, but that is the base setting. If you have an adj rib, then you set the rib to your POI preference then set the comb to get the figure-8 again.

Left-right, well just set it so that you are looking perfectly down the center of the rib.

3. Barrelbulge(Fl)

Barrelbulge(Fl) TS Supporters TS Supporters

That's the way I do it. Mike.

4. Birch1007

Birch1007 Active Member

I'm shooting a BT-99. It was orginally my dad's, he bought it in the 70's I think and he had the adjustable comb installed on the stock.

5. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

Set the comb so the beads are a figure-8 and shoot it. Also pattern the gun to know exactly where it is shooting.

6. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Inorder to get the right height you have to shoot the gun. Shoot straight aways from station #3. If that is not available go to the skeet field and shoot low 7s. Adjust the height of the comb so you get center hits on the bird. HMB

7. BDodd

BDodd TS Member