1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

adjustable butt pad

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by BLS, May 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BLS

BLS TS Member

I have a kick-eez adjustable butt pad on my gun. I purchased this gun from my father-in-law a few weeks when I started shooting trap. A couple of weeks ago I lowered it a little in order to obtain a more comfortable fit. Tonight I dropped it down as low as it will go to try to keep my head and neck as straight up as possible while keeping a comfortable feel when mounting the gun. The top inch and a half to two inches of the butt is now exposed.

my question is, will having the pad adjusted that low have any negative affects, ie. recoil, stress on the stock, etc. I am new to the sport so excuse my iggnorance. I'm just tweaking the gun to feel as comfortable as I can while shooting. I'll be shooting tommorow to see how i like it.

Thanks,

Barry

2. Tydaws

Tydaws Member

Nope. No problems with this. If it fits it hits.

3. 4N6PE

4N6PE Member

So many shooters including myself have done exactly that. I've also turned my buttpad so that it lays comfortably on the chest muscle and shoulder pocket.
    Don't be afraid to experiment until it fits you.

Ned

4. BLS

BLS TS Member

Thanks for the info.

5. Rollin Oswald

Rollin Oswald Active Member

Barry,

As the "drop at the heel" increases (with lowering the recoil pad), barrel rise during recoil also increases. With enough lowering, it may eventually cause cheek slap.

One way to reduce the need to lower the pad is to raise the gun mount. The butt should be about an inch above (and on) the collarbone.