1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

?? about ATA Classifacation

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by huntinandhotrods, Mar 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. huntinandhotrods

huntinandhotrods Member

First of all I just want to state that I'm not complaining but just trying to understand how it works. I'm new to ATA and joined and shot my firt ATA shoot a little over a month ago. When I signed up I was put in B class and was told I would stay there until I shot 500 registered targets and then I would be re classified. That day I shot a 95 in singles and a 88 (I think) in handicap. My next shoot was last weekend and when I signed up they moved me to A class even though I haven't shot 500 register targets yet. I asked the guy and he said even with just one score of a 95 it shows known ability and he is moving me up. Is this right? Is it just up to the belief of the one guy who is signing you up at each shoot and the next shoot to what a different guys believes you ought to be classified? Thanks Huntinandhotrods!!

2. V10

V10 Well-Known Member

Rule V, C, 1:

"... A new shooter may be assigned to any class in 16-yards and Doubles events, at the discretion of classification personnel until the shooter establishes his/her known ability. ... "

With that said, I probably would have left you in B. But, it is up to the classifier as shown in the rule above.

3. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

V10, how right you are!! People doing the classifying can use their judgment in deciding which class this shooter should be placed in with fairness to all.