1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

AAs - grey vs. red - loading question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by selmerfan, Jun 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. selmerfan

selmerfan TS Member

I've been reloading shotshells for 15 years, almost 100% red AA hulls, mostly field loads, some trap. I picked up some grey handicap AA hulls last summer that are giving me fits. They are the old style of hull, but the crimp is not closing completely. I'm loading them on a P/W 600B loader that works very well with the red hulls, perfect crimp, star center, but the grey hulls are leaving an opening in the center large enough to allow even #5 shot to dribble out. Annoying as heck, my only remedy so far has been melting wax into each one to hold the shot in. Not a major problem to do, but it is a PITA. It seems to me that the grey hulls are just a bit shorter than the red hulls. Am I right about this, or do I need to change the crimp settings on my machine? Thanks for the input!
    Willie

2. selmerfan

selmerfan TS Member

Thanks! I tried lowering the finish crimp, but that didn't seem to help at all. I'm relatively new to the P/W 600B, I inherited it in pristine condition from an uncle.

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

Don't lower the finish crimp, lower the crimp starter. I have never found a difference between the red and gray hulls.

Pat Ireland

4. selmerfan

selmerfan TS Member

Two equal recommendations, I'll go give it a try after work.

5. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member