Trapshooters Forum banner

AA hulls with B&P z2 24mm wads 12ga

2K views 6 replies 2 participants last post by  sporter62 
#1 ·
hi all, i am new to reloading and this forum.

asking for some feedback please. does anyone have experiences loading #2 shot steel with AA hulls and the B&P z2 24mm hulls. i only ask as i am getting 2,500 hulls and 10,000 wads soon for a good price.

thanks
Ralph downunder

#2 · (Edited)
Welcome to TS.com.

No experience reloading that BP wad in AA Hulls. I will point out a couple of things.

First, the AA hull is a tapered-wall hull and the BP was is designed for use in straight walled hulls. The use of wads designed for use in straight-walled hulls in tapered walled hulls is contraindicated because the wads have power cups with a larger diameter than wads designed for tapered walled hulls. They don't fit well because the base of the wad is too big around for the the AA hull.

Next, there are two types of AA hull, the old style AACF and the new style AAHS. While the loading data says the 2 types of hulls are interchangeable, they are not, the AAHS his configured differential internally and many loads give "stack height" issue. The stack height of the load listed in the data is too tall with resulting crimp problems and sometime hull buckling or crushing. Do you know which type hull are will be getting. Or, are the AA hulls they sell down under different than the ones we have in the US?

Next, steel shot reloading is a niche reloading specialty and typically requires special steel shot wads (I note B & P has a separate line of wads made for loading steel shot). There is separate data for loading steel, you can't use data for loading lead shot and simply substitute steel, the volume of the shot charge is different (much larger) and it takes significantly more steel shot pellets to make a given weight. What type powder do you intend to use? There are only a handful of powders suitable for loading steel shot.