1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

AA hulls for reloading?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by slayer, May 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slayer

    slayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,929
    Location:
    beautiful northern michigan
    I have a very good source for the new AA [gray] hulls. I have heard that you can't reload them too many times because of a base wad issue. Can anyone let me know the limitations on these? Also is it a safety issue? thanks Bill
     
  2. Johnny

    Johnny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,800
    Load em till they wear out. I have never seen a "base wad issue."
     
  3. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    I have yet to have seen physical evidence of anyone with a base wad migration. Additionally the base wad issue was during a first run of the HS hulls. They can be identified with the "AA" printed on the hull without the black box around it.

    Again you're going to get some that say how dangerous they are but will provide no further evidence other than what they have heard around the clubhouse.
     
  4. cunninmp

    cunninmp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    639
    Bill,
    I have a bunch of the new AA's and have never had a problem.
    I keep my eye on them just like Nitro's and STS's.
    When a hull is nearing end of life I just letum drop.

    Mike C
     
  5. chipking

    chipking TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,761
    3 years ago I bought 4000 once fired 12ga AAs from a schools shooting team. I am anal about checking hulls as I load and I found 3 or 4 where the base wad was up 1/4 to 3/8 inch. I chucked these and continued loading and reloading these hulls. I believe that before this batch of hulls finally got dropped I encountered a couple more that had lifted about the same amount. I never encountered a hull where the base wad was gone even though these hulls saw about 6 reloads each before I dropped them. I actually had more problems with early splitting at the crimps ( sometimes 3 -4 per 100 after second load) than base wad migration.

    I switched to Remington because I ended up with many thousand almost free. If I needed hulls I would not hesitate to use AAs again.

    --- Chip King ---
     
  6. Johnny

    Johnny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,800
    chipking, concerning the hulls where you saw the basewad out of position, was the basewad loose in the hull? I am wondering if the basewad actually moved or was that a manufacturing error and like that from the beginning?
     
  7. chipking

    chipking TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,761
    Don't know. Just saw it was not where it should be tossed it in the trash and continued. However the ones that occurred after I loaded them had to have moved after reloading and shooting because they would have already been in the trash before I loaded them if the base wad was up.

    --- Chip King ---
     
  8. Ajax

    Ajax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,446
    Just because one has not seen something, does not mean it can not happen.

    When the first new AA came out. I saw two base wads come to the mouth of the case. That's when we started to check the base wads. You could cut the cases down the sides and then push the base wad out with your thumb. Winchester got a lot of complaints and I believe started working on the issue in the back ground and quietly fixed the problem.

    The last AA cases I tried to take the base wads out, I tore the case apart and with pliers could not get the base wad to move.

    The problem seems to be fixed and I would have no trouble loading the cases.

    Ajax
     
  9. sidious

    sidious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Thank you OP for posting and thank you all for your inputs as I've been wondering the same.
     
  10. slayer

    slayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,929
    Location:
    beautiful northern michigan
    good to know that it is not an ongoing problem. thanks all. Bill
     
  11. Laserwizard

    Laserwizard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Madison, Ohio
    I load the snot out of the new AA's. Never once a problem. At least 20,000 rounds in the past 12 months.

    I intermittently load the old AA & the new AA with the same load without any issues either.
     
  12. Rodney1966

    Rodney1966 TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Colorado
    I bet I get 10 to 13 reloads out of my AA's. I throw them out if I see any light shine through the tops, or any cracking. I have never had a problem with the brass base stretching. Now only if I could stop making the occasional stupid mistake of not putting a wad in, or forgetting to watch the primer feed. Such is life in the reloading world.

    Cheers Rodney
     
  13. Unknown1

    Unknown1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,397
    I dump AAs after 4 or 5 reloads, either because they start to blow soot around the primers or because they start to bulge around the middle and become hard to persuade into the sizing dies of my PWs and the chambers of my XTs. Until then, they're great hulls.

    Keller
     
  14. TC

    TC TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    931
    The first generation new AA's had a box around the AA logo on the hull. The second generation removed the box. The third generation added the "HS" to the base. All of the loose base wads I have seen were from the first generation, haven't found any since.
     
  15. Dave P

    Dave P TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,512
    Location:
    Canton, Il.
    I had received the same answer about the AA's NOT having a box around them. But, I don't know anything about the "HS".
     
  16. DTrykow

    DTrykow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,542
    I've had trouble with the 2 PC Shiny AA's. Brass is coming off the hull. The boxed "AA" single PC are fine. I also have the same problem with Remington STS as well. See pic below. The Shiny AA 2 PC hulls have this identical problem for me. Dave T.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
aa hulls bulge when crimped
,
aa traacker hull reload
,
avg aa hull reloading
,
new winchester aa hull loading problem
,

reloading aa hs hulls

,
reloading aa hulls
,
reloading second generation winchester aa
,
reloading winchester aa hs hulls