1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

AA hulls crushing in PW 800+ New Problenm

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by dverna, Apr 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dverna

dverna Active Member

AA hulls crushing in PW 800+ New Problem

I have been using the machine for two years and recently have had quite a few crushed hulls.

I backed off on the taper to see if that helped but it did seem to improve the situation very much.

Also, it seems to be affecting only hulls that were given to me last week. These had been loaded on another machine and before they were fired I noticed the crimp quality was very poor (domed).

I did not try to adjust the crimp as I like the crimp depth to be about the thickness of a dime. Is that the problem?

What should I look for?

Thanks,

Don

2. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

Are you sure they are the new 2 piece hulls with the separate base wad. With all the bad mouthing on the new hulls the only problems I had on my PW 900 were with the last generation of Silver bullets before they went to the separate base wad design. Those problems were with smashed crimps like you describe.

3. dverna

dverna Active Member

Miketmx

The crimp is not crushed.

The hull buckles about mid section.

Don

4. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

I don't have problems with new AA's but I use AA and WT-12 wads that are designed for the 2 piece AA hulls. These wads may be a tad smaller on the over-powder cup.

5. blizzard

blizzard Active Member

Don,

i had the problem on my 366. Was using western WT12 wads. Then i got them dialed in. No probs.