1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

A word about primers!!!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by SirMissalott, Oct 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SirMissalott

SirMissalott Active Member

There have been quite a few threads about different primers lately due in part to cost, availability etc..In particular the subject of diameter when comparing domestic primers to European i.e.Chedite etc. The following comes under the category of a word to the wise (from someone who isn't). I have used most all primers interchangeably depending on what was available with virtually no problems. "UNTIL" I started shooting my 1100 with hulls that were previously loaded with European (larger diameter) primers then switching to domestic (smaller) primers. I have had 4 primers back out completely and cause all kind of fun while on the line, due to primers finding there way into the worst possible places in my action, trigger group etc.. I haven't experienced any issues on break open action I guess because the receiver isn't moving. Hope this helps prevent the same issues with anyone in the future.

P.S. My apologies to my squad mates while I was rebuilding my 1100 while on the line and possibly for the inappropriate language. LOL

2. Savage99Stan

Savage99Stan Active Member

I discovered, to my chagrin, that Nobel primers swell the pockets of American hulls......after I loaded several once fired AAs and such. Next loading I found several piles of powder and a "dropped" primer in my loader....now, I use the remainder for the one time only loading of Kemen or Diana shells and when the primers are gone, so will the hulls.

I'm back to WW primers exclusively.