1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

A trip to Kolar

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by ms_yuan, Jun 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ms_yuan

ms_yuan Member

I had the pleasure of going to Kolar for a custom stock and fit this week. I’ve never done something like this before and what an eye opener. I know there are other manufacturers who treat their customers right, but let me just say that I’ve never been treated like this before. Jeff Mainland is one of the nicest, most personable and all-out competent guys I’ve had the privilege to meet. He spent about 7 hours with me from blank to shaped but unfinished stock and at the end of the session I had a stock in my hands that felt more natural, more comfortable, than I could imagine. It's also vastly different from any off the shelf stock I've seen, with buckets of offset and a wicked twist for toe-out, but I can mount the gun with my eyes closed and when I open them, everything lines up. When I shot it at their patterning facility, there was very little felt recoil.

Will it make a difference in my shooting? Perhaps yes, perhaps no – I’ll see in 10 weeks or so, but I’ll still be a happy camper. I got to pick out the blank, I got to see it rough cut and machined, I got to feel it get more and more natural as an extension of my hand as Jeff asked questions, had me mount the gun (many times), made marks, filed and sanded.