1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

870 with a RAD1a?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Mark Stacklin, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mark Stacklin

Mark Stacklin Member

I am thinking of installing a RAD1a on my 870 express field stock. Is there any reason why I can not? And is there anybody that has done this to there 870 themselves. I have been doing custom woodworking for 16 years so I have all the tools to do the stock work I just want to make sure it will fit before I make the purchase.

2. Mark Stacklin

Mark Stacklin Member

3. bkt514

bkt514 Active Member

Would TRON know??

4. Tron

Tron Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

It depends on what LOP you require. The unit requires 4" of depth and the factory stock bolt should be about 4 1/4" deep. You could go with a very thin pad to make up for some of the units added length and you could possibly counter sink the stocks bolt hole a bit and shorten the stock bolt, but I wouldn't go too much deeper. So, I guess it all depends.

5. stockguy

stockguy Member

Mark,