1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

870 target barrel

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mikeinmich, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mikeinmich

mikeinmich Member

Anyone else using one of these and willing to share experience with the different chokes available? I've been shooting the extra full choke. It seems to work well for me. The chokes for this barrel are marked full trap, extra full trap and super full trap. I'm new to this and would appreciate any input. I can see that these tubes are not sized like the traditional Rem-chokes.

2. AveragEd

AveragEd Well-Known Member

Actually, they are - they are simply renamed to mate with the "Target" barrel's larger bore diameter.

If you run a bore micrometer through your barrel, you're going to find that it measures between .730" and .745" until about three inches from the choke tube threads. There, it tapers down to .727," so the barrel has between .003" and .018" of "built-in" choke. Obviously, using a normal "full" choke would result in overchoking, especially in a .745" bore - you'd wind up with something on the order .053" or more of constriction.

My experience with patterning those RemChokes is not good. First of all, the net constrictions they yielded were .003", .038" and .048," if I recall correctly. If not, that's close. The "Full Trap" tube actually had an outlet diameter that was .742," so it really reopened the choke, so I never patterned it. But the other two threw very uneven patterns with lots of holes, so I bought a .015" constriction Wright's tube that netted me .033" of constriction.