1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

70/30?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by dynasty, Apr 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dynasty

dynasty TS Member

I have been shooting 70/30 for about 6 months now, and for the past couple weeks I don't know why, but, my scores have been going down some. I believe that I'm shooting over the birds, so I switched my gun down to a 60/40. Went and shot today and the lowest I shot was a 23. Just wondering what everyone thought I should do, learn to shoot 70/30 or just stick with 60/40? Some of the more experienced shooters at the range have talked with me and told me that they think I should stick with the 70/30 because I shoot fast. I don't know what what to do. Just looking for alittle advise.

2. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

Shoot whatever breaks the more birds. What makes you think it was 70/30 and is now 60/40?

Neil

3. cueguy2

cueguy2 TS Member

Shoot and adjust till you start smoking them and then leave it alone. Who cares what the number is unless it is 100 straight? Nubs Wagner.

4. southpark

southpark TS Member

Neil's right. Everyone is a little different. Even top shooters vary greatly in what pattern they shoot. Shoot with the pattern ratio that works best for you. You may very well change as your skill changes and or the speed with which you get on the bird. But don't get carried away changing things all the time either. Many say you need as many as 5000 targets before you settle into a gun set up. Personally, I think 1000 or less, but the point is be aware of that concern.

Neil's other point is that folks are often guessing about where their gun shoots.

You could probably do a search and find where Neil has discussed patterning your gun on a patterning board.

5. phirel