1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

50 questions...who is ready?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by hdbrs, Oct 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hdbrs

hdbrs Member

hello guys. ive been lurking your forum for a couple of months now and am bored on account of the weather so i figured i would join and start asking questions. yes i know what the search function is for but im hoping to get some realtime answers.

my trap shooting career started this yr and i maybe shot about 15 times in my league. granted i might shoot 2-3 times at league but i am basically a beginner. as it turns out i think i am relatively ok at it. after the shock of the first couple trys i average between 22-23 with anything below 22 im disapointed and im happy with 23-24. only 1 25 but oh well.

question 1: used guns. what exactly do you look for in a used gun? is it pretty much the condition of the wood and exterior. are the inner workings of a good gun builty to pretty much hold up for 10s of thousands of shells. i mean you can buy a used car which looks great on outside but if owner never maintained the engine it will be junk. i shoot a skb 505 field gun that i bought used many yrs ago because it was in excellent shape at a good price. never fired it until this yeart when i started shooting trap. problem is it just beats me up. i think maybe the barrels are too short and 75 shells later my cheek is black and blue and hurting. is this the gun not fitting me or the fact that its a field gun not a trap gun?

2. hdbrs

hdbrs Member

guys tell me it is good that my cheek hurts. it means i am keeping my head down but no way i could shoot 2 boxes of shells 4 nights in a row. i would be afraid of the kick and get worse at hitting birds

3. grntitan