1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

45 pistol ammo?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dolphin77, Nov 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dolphin77

dolphin77 Member

I am just getting into shooting handguns and would like info on the difference in 45 ammo.....45 ACP, 45 GAP, etc....? Thanks WC

2. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

try M1911.org web site

3. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

Google them and be prepared for a long read.

The 45 Auto was designed to replace the 45 Colt's revolver cartridge a very long time ago. It has a loyal following, and has been the Gold Standard for defensive pistol rounds.

The 45 GAP was designed to have the power of a 45 Auto in a small bore platform. The original 45 GAP in the Glock pistol basically uses the 9/40 frame. The 45 Auto round operates at less pressure, is longer, and is on a larger, heavier frame.

The 45 Auto has been around since Moses was a pup. The 45 GAP is gaining acceptance by Law Enforcement, but is being slowly received by Armed Citizens.

4. Sky Buster

Sky Buster Sky Buster TS Supporters

The .45 Gap and 357 Sig are both dead horses for L.E. and civilians.
    Talk with your local dealer and see how much of either they sell. Alot
    of shops don't even stock those calibers. It's 9mm, .40 and .45acp.

5. perazzitms

perazzitms TS Member

45ACP = .45 Auto Colt Pistol. Basically your grandfather's .45. You end up with either a single stack mag (al'a 1911 - 7 rounds) or a stagered mag in a very large grip (al'a Glock 21 - 13 rounds).

45GAP = .45 Glock Auto Pistol. Glock's attempt to put a .45 cal bullet in the standard, smaller, more comfortable (for some) frame (al'a standard Glock 17). Case is a little shorter than the ACP case.