1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

366 powder slide problem

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Bridger, Aug 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bridger

Bridger Member

I have been using a Hornady 366 for a few months now and for the most part I am very pleased with it. However, one annoying problem is that the powder slide keeps moving to the shutoff position. I have called Hornady and they felt the powder rubber washer rmay need replacing so they sent a couple new ones which didn't help. I finally cut a small wood block to fit against the end of the powder slide and the frame of the loader and that holds it in place. Not the best solution but it works. This is a 20 gauge loader, using Unique powder.

2. twotimer

twotimer Member

Bridger, there is a little spring type lock that you have to move to shut the powder off. I'm guessing you are missing that part. I don't believe you can shut the powder off without releasing that spring. Mike

3. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

That was my first thought.

4. mwm86

mwm86 Member

Twotimer hit it on the head, either the powder shutoff spring is gone or just wore out, I had the same thing happen to me, sometimes u can just tweak that spring a little bit to make sure it is in the locking groove in the side of the slide.

5. Bridger

Bridger Member

The spring is there but apparently not holding. I don't know what else it could be other than the spring but was curious if anyone else had run into this. I'll try and tweak it a bit and see if I can it to hold, otherwise I'll just order a new spring. Thanks.

6. StonewallRacing

StonewallRacing Well-Known Member