1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

366 Operational Question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GordonWood421, Nov 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GordonWood421

    GordonWood421 TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    287
    How many 366 devote's resize during a standard reloading cycle ? How many don't resize at all ?

    Would it be too big a "change" for Hornady to incorporate the re-size operation into their Sta 1 ?

    I have an Apex 3.? and a 366 ; the "stand-by" resizer for the 366 is much like a MEC 600 ; the Apex resizer is similar to RCBS Grand's .

    Those seem simple . MEC's collet type seems like the best design -- as far as results are concerned - - but they seem to be the source of problems .

    Did you select your press based upon its resizer or other feature(s) ?

    Charlie
     
  2. wm rike

    wm rike Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    594
    I don't use the ring resizer on a 366. If and when I think a hull really needs resizing, I do it right with a Mec collet type sizer. My past experience has been that the ring type sizers sometimes produce a too-large rim diameter that causes problems. I've had no such problems with the Apex, the Mec Grabber variants, or the PW.
     
  3. PerazziBigBore

    PerazziBigBore TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,859
    I've never had a problem with a ring sizer that my lathe and a few grinding stones didn't take care of.. I load on a 800+ now.. but had 30 years with a 366/266/155/150 Pacific/Hornady.. Great press.. but you got.. what you got.. Best resizer in the industry.. but slow..
     
  4. BigM-Perazzi

    BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    8,542
    Location:
    HELL, MICHIGAN
    Use a 366. Never found a need to resize...
     
  5. Jeff P

    Jeff P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,689
    30+ years on a 366 now...I don't resize.

    Perhaps if I've picked up a hull that's been stepped on, i'll run it through, just to get the plastic rounded out out again.
     
  6. Easystreet

    Easystreet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,463
    I may resize about 1 hull out of every 500 when reloading with my 366. I just seldom find that it's necessary.

    Easystreet
     
  7. napawino

    napawino TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    I have been using the 366 for 26 years and I have never re-sized as a normal procedure. I have never had a shell that jammed or would not chamber in my guns.
    Fred Wiedemann
     
  8. Ljutic111

    Ljutic111 TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,730
    I`ve been using my 366 for 20+ years and every hull that goes thru it is resized . No reason not too as far as I`m concerned . Never had a problem either .
     
  9. Ljutic111

    Ljutic111 TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,730
    I`ve been using my 366 for 20+ years and every hull that goes thru it is resized . No reason not too as far as I`m concerned . Never had a problem either .
     
  10. skeeljc

    skeeljc Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Terre Haute Indiana
    I have four MEC Sizemaster loaders. I size and de-prime all my hulls before loading them on either a Hornady 366 or a P/W 900. I shoot several autos in all four gauges and sizeing the shells on a MEC collet sizer produces a reload that almost always functions in an auto. Removing the spent primer makes the progressive loaders operate more smoothly.

    Jim Skeel
     
  11. michshooter

    michshooter TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    I resize every hull on my 366 as they can have been shot in 3 different guns. Resizing every hull is just a carry over from when I was active in IDPA and IPCS pistol shooting and you had to resize. Never had a problem with resizing.

    ....Paul
     
  12. short shucker

    short shucker TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,939
    Way too many in the safe not to resize. I've been loading on 366's for the last 10 years and I always use the resizing station. The hulls are very nice when done and fit all my guns, same guage of course.

    I can reload about 300/hr on my 366's and that's good enough for me. I could reload a little faster with larger capacity tubes, but not worth the hassel.

    ss
     
  13. BigM-Perazzi

    BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    8,542
    Location:
    HELL, MICHIGAN
    to clarify, I don't resize. I shoot them all in:

    Mx3 special
    Mx15
    (2) Super x1's
    Browning superposed
    remington 11-87
    Beretta 391
    AYA Matador


    Never an issue..
     
  14. esoxhunter

    esoxhunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Charlie: I never resize on my 366. (Too much trouble) I agree that they should engineer the loader to resize on the depriming station; as the MEC does. I have a MEC Supersizer. I can easily resize a box of shells in a minute. Small price to pay to be sure the shells fit in your gun. I had that problem once when I had a MEC 650. I didn't resize and had an embarrassing situation during an ATA shoot. I resize no matter what; even though the hulls are fired in the same gun. Been doing this for 5 years and never had a problem. Get a supersizer and feel confident. Ed
     
  15. short shucker

    short shucker TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,939
    esoxhunter,

    OMG! Too much trouble to use the resizer on a 366. Just exactly how lazy are you?

    Since it is so much trouble to use the resizer, just how many times during a run do you bother to check your charge weights? I'll bet that I know the answer to this one.

    There are some people that shouldn't be allowed to own a reloader!

    ss
     
  16. esoxhunter

    esoxhunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    shortshucker: What prompted you to question my method of reloading and most important implying that maybe I shouldn't be allowed to reload? I have reloaded shotgun shells for approximately 50 years. I have 3 Hornady reloaders and 2 RCBS powder scales. I check my loads before each reloading session and document all of the shot and powder charges my bushings throw. I also customize my bushings to get my desired drop. I do not consider myself lazy. I consider myself smart enough to develop a more efficient and desirable loading process. (In my opinion anyway). If you feel it is more efficient and desirable to use the Hornady 366's separate station to resize; go for it. I just prefer to utilize the MEC supersizer instead. My perogative, correct? Now with the attitude that you so willingly brought forth to me and the assumption that "I am lazy"; I will make my assumption that you are a member in good standing with the SEIU and Acorn and quite probably voted for Obama 7 or 8 times. See we both can make assumptions. What really upsets me is the thread is about resizing. You have your way and I have mine. What in the hell has this got to do with laziness, weighing charges or being allowed ownership of a reloader?? Unbelievable. Have a good day. Ed
     
  17. Jeff P

    Jeff P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,689
    To be fair...I USED to resize every hull. Does slow you down a bit, but if you're using different guns, you should do it.

    I shoot every game (all the trap games, skeet, mod skeet, and all the sporting games) with the same gun....so it's not an issue for me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.