1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

303 or 391 best for project gun?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mallard2, Oct 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mallard2

mallard2 Active Member

Someone posted a nice 391 that they had built up with a high rib and nice stock.

I have an almost new 303 that I am thinking of doing the same project on.

I don't know much about the 391. Is it substantially better built gun or better shooter than the 303?

Any other thoughts?

2. SouthMetro Shooter

SouthMetro Shooter TS Member

I am far from an expert on guns but i have had my fair share of run ins with Beretta's, they are all very similar with modifications done to the next model in line. I'm in the same boat with a 390 I'm looking at getting, but my hesitation is the stock has a small crack. And on Beretta's some guys say no school like the old school and others will say the newer ones are better, there is no straight answer. It all comes down to just doing your research and knowing how they function and what breaks and such. Hope you find this helpful, as i said earlier I'm no expert though.

3. mallard2

mallard2 Active Member

Thanks, South, good information.

4. Tron

Tron Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

They're basically the same gun, but the 391 (and the 390) has a shim system so that you can adjust the cast/drop of the stock by use of a simple washer system. Also, the 391 has a gas valve that will release excess pressure through the forearm vent. It has a narrower forearm than the 390 and previous models as well...which I like. For reasons that I have never understood, some say that the 391's gas system is hard to clean....I don't get it, it's actually very simple.