1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

3/4oz Reclaimed shot OK for 16 yard singles Trap?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 808state, Oct 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 808state

808state Member

I'm new to reloading and live in Hawaii. After some research I've come to the conclusion that the only economical way, for me at least, to reload 12ga is to use reclaimed shot in 3/4oz loads.

I've loaded and shot 1-1/8oz and 1oz shells with reclaimed shot and do well with both for a new shooter. I want to start buying in bulk to drive the costs down, with lead being the one component that's proving to be the most expensive and not readily available locally. Fortunately most places will ship shot USPS flat rate. Recob's reclaimed shot is the cheapest I've found online so far. With 3/4oz loads I theoretically can get 533 shells from a 25lb. bag of shot.

Wads can't be found locally as well, so I'll need to buy that online also. To drive wad prices down I'll need to buy by the case and ship USPS Parcel Post. So before investing in 5000 of CB0175-12 wads, how does everyone feel about using 3/4oz reclaimed loads from 16 yards for practice in singles Trap?

Recipe I'll be using
    Rem STS/Nitro hulls
    Recob Reclaimed shot
    Win209 primers (I'd prefer to use cheaper Noble Sport but can't get it locally)
    CB0175-12 wads
    15gr Alliant Extra-Lite

Aloha,
    Mark

ETA: I should probably be a little more specific. There's a wide variance in shot size, shape and quality with reclaimed which factors in on the pattern. I want to hear from people using this particular combination before buying wads in bulk as to the effectiveness of using a reduced load with reclaimed.

2. Mike K P

Mike K P Member

Hi Mark,