1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

3/4 ton trucks

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by mike T, Nov 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike T

mike T Member

looking to up grade my dodge 1/2 ton 5.7 hemi to a 3/4 ton to tow a larger 5th wheel. Right now I am about at my limit. Mine is a 2009 and as near as I can tell it has the same motor, trans, and rear end 3.90 as the 3/4 ton Just has coil springs instead of leaf. Nice ride but I had to add air bag helper. So it would not squat so bad. So What should I look for and look out for. I am ok with Dodge, Ford,or Chevy. I have no experience with diesel. But would be willing to consider.
    again what should I look for and what to stay away from.

thank
    mike t

2. CalvinMD

CalvinMD Well-Known Member

Alot has to do with if you're going gas or diesel and just how much towing do you do?

3. 548

548 Guest

If you can afford a diesel, the diesel is definitely what you want for pulling a 5th wheel camper

4. MNGuns

MNGuns Member

I have had both the big block gas and the diesel trucks, Ford, Chevy, and Dodge. The thing to keep in mind is cost of ownership.

Diesels are full of torque and great for towing but cost more to maintain, repair, and replace. A disel injection pump can set you back a couple thousand dollar, a complete used or even reman gas motor can be had for near the same. If you are up north, gelling and plugging in your truck at night can be a pain. Two batteries under the hood of a diesel equals cost times two.

I do like diesels, but when I own them I get paid to drive them and the cost is figured into the bill at the end of the day. Where I to buy a heavy hauler for personal use I would go gas and pay a little more at the pump when I needed it.

5. mbm5770

mbm5770 Member