1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

23 yd Help

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by gordy h, Jan 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gordy h

gordy h Member

OK Guys
    I give up and need help bad, Ive been shooting for 30 years and can't get past the 23 yd line. I can brake 16 yd targets with the best of them, 24 ave.
    i've had more guns than most gun shops, tried chokes from mod to extra full.
    Go to shoot the jackpot on Sunday and break 25 16 yd and lucky to hit 15 at 25. Seems like the most I miss are straight away targets. I've read books by Bennet, Missildine, etc. Any honest help would be appreciated . Thanks Butch H

2. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

Hey Butch,

I actually had to add a washer to the comb to raise my POI to get off the 23. I was stuck there for 6 months, in 2 months I was at the 27. If you are missing straights, you are shooting under them. Also, if you hold a high gun at 16, you probably move the gun up very little on straights, in effect almost spot shooting them. Move back and that same reaction time is not fast enough. Holding a little lower will force yourself to make an upward move or practice making an definite upward move from your higher hold.

JT

3. prince_of_darkness

prince_of_darkness TS Member

ok let me get this straight 16 yard targets 24 avg??? that computes to a 96% average out of 100. and you think a 96 average is shooting with the best of them??

4. grnberetcj

grnberetcj Active Member

You just may have an eye(s) problem. Get checked by a Dr. that understands the hand & eye concept as pertaining to a sports activity. Also, check for cross dominance which will become more pronounced while shooting a handicap target.

Get Phil Kiner's DVD, it has alot of good information.

Curt

5. AveragEd